Gone are the days of The Big Red Machine, Willie Stargell, Mike Schmidt and Lou Brock, and so too are the days of National League dominance in the MLB All-Star game. 

From 1972 to 1982, the NL won 11 straight Midsummer Classics. This was in the midst of a stretch in which the NL won 19 of 20 games from 1963 to 1982.

Recently however, it has been the American League that has dominated baseball's star-studded game. 

In fact, the NL hasn’t won since 1996 at Veteran's Stadium in Philadelphia. Excluding a 2002 tie, that's 12 straight games in favor of the DH using Americans.

Although it hasn't always been easy for the AL, as each of the last four games have been determined by one run, including a 15-inning affair that took place in 2008. 

There was also that 7-7 tie in 2002, of course, that would never happen anymore with the game determining home-field advantage in the World Series. 

But after feeling the agony of defeat for 12 straight decisions, I believe this will be the year the NL exorcises their all-star demons and claim home-filed advantage. 

With the game's most dominant pitcher, Ubaldo Jimenez on the mound, and baseball's leaders in ERA all on the NL side, the NL has a clear advantage when it comes to pitching, and everyone knows pitching wins ballgames. 

The American League lineup features feared hitter after feared hitter, however the title of the game’s most feared hitter belongs to the NL's Albert Pujols.

Can the NL's finest, Jimenez, Roy Halladay, Tim Lincecum, Josh Johnson, Chris Carpenter and Tim Hudson stop the veteran, savvy AL hitters?

It may truly be a test of the unstoppable force against the immovable object. 

Stay tuned.